MLB

#27
Lucas Giolito
ERA W-L K
5.00 10-9 173
Team: Chi White SoxHt / Wt: 6-6 / 245
Position: SPBorn: 7/14/1994 Birthplace: Santa Monica, California
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: 1st Round by Nationals (2012)


Latest News
Sep. 29 1:32 PM PT2:32 PM MT3:32 PM CT4:32 PM ET16:32 ET20:32 GMT4:32 1:32 PM MST3:32 PM EST2:32 PM CST4:02 PM VEN0:32 UAE (+1)2:32 PM CT-Lucas Giolito allowed two runs on four hits and three walks in 5.0 innings as the Chicago White Sox defeated the Minnesota Twins 4-3 on Thursday. Giolito struck out six, ending the game with a 5.00 ERA and 1.47 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 23 8:22 PM PT9:22 PM MT10:22 PM CT11:22 PM ET23:22 ET3:22 GMT11:22 8:22 PM MST10:22 PM EST9:22 PM CST10:52 PM VEN7:22 UAE (+1)9:22 PM CT-Lucas Giolito allowed three runs on six hits and one walk in 6.0 innings as the Chicago White Sox lost to the Detroit Tigers 5-3 on Friday. Giolito struck out nine, ending the game with a 5.05 ERA and 1.48 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 16 7:49 PM PT8:49 PM MT9:49 PM CT10:49 PM ET22:49 ET2:49 GMT10:49 7:49 PM MST9:49 PM EST8:49 PM CST10:19 PM VEN6:49 UAE (+1)8:49 PM CT-Lucas Giolito allowed one run on four hits and three walks in 4.2 innings as the Chicago White Sox lost to the Detroit Tigers 3-2 on Friday. Giolito struck out five, ending the game with a 5.07 ERA and 1.49 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 10 9:48 PM PT10:48 PM MT11:48 PM CT12:48 AM ET0:48 ET4:48 GMT12:48 9:48 PM MST11:48 PM EST10:48 PM CST12:18 AM VEN8:48 UAE10:48 PM CT-Lucas Giolito allowed three runs on five hits and two walks in 6.0 innings as the Chicago White Sox defeated the Oakland Athletics 5-3 on Friday. Giolito struck out six, ending the game with a 5.18 ERA and 1.49 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 4 2:40 PM PT3:40 PM MT4:40 PM CT5:40 PM ET17:40 ET21:40 GMT5:40 2:40 PM MST4:40 PM EST3:40 PM CST5:10 PM VEN1:40 UAE (+1)3:40 PM CT-Lucas Giolito fell to 10-9, allowing two runs on six hits and two walks in 5.0 innings, as the Chicago White Sox lost to the Minnesota Twins 5-1 on Sunday. Giolito struck out five, ending the game with a 5.21 ERA and 1.50 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 30 8:38 PM PT9:38 PM MT10:38 PM CT11:38 PM ET23:38 ET3:38 GMT11:38 8:38 PM MST10:38 PM EST9:38 PM CST11:08 PM VEN7:38 UAE (+1)9:38 PM CT-Lucas Giolito fell to 10-8, allowing five runs on six hits and two walks in 5.1 innings, as the Chicago White Sox lost to the Kansas City Royals 9-7 on Tuesday. Giolito struck out seven, ending the game with a 5.27 ERA and 1.50 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 24 7:43 PM PT8:43 PM MT9:43 PM CT10:43 PM ET22:43 ET2:43 GMT10:43 7:43 PM MST9:43 PM EST8:43 PM CST10:13 PM VEN6:43 UAE (+1)8:43 PM CT-Lucas Giolito improved to 10-7, allowing one run on four hits and two walks in 6.1 innings, as the Chicago White Sox defeated the Baltimore Orioles 5-3 on Wednesday. Giolito struck out three, ending the game with a 5.14 ERA and 1.50 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 18 3:12 PM PT4:12 PM MT5:12 PM CT6:12 PM ET18:12 ET22:12 GMT6:12 3:12 PM MST5:12 PM EST4:12 PM CST5:42 PM VEN2:12 UAE (+1)4:12 PM CT-Lucas Giolito fell to 9-7, allowing seven runs on eight hits and one walk in 3.0 innings, as the Chicago White Sox lost to the Houston Astros 21-5 on Thursday. Giolito struck out five, ending the game with a 5.34 ERA and 1.53 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 13 7:05 PM PT8:05 PM MT9:05 PM CT10:05 PM ET22:05 ET2:05 GMT10:05 7:05 PM MST9:05 PM EST8:05 PM CST9:35 PM VEN6:05 UAE (+1)8:05 PM CT-Lucas Giolito improved to 9-6, allowing four runs on eight hits and one walk in 7.0 innings, as the Chicago White Sox defeated the Detroit Tigers 6-4 on Saturday. Giolito struck out seven, ending the game with a 4.92 ERA and 1.49 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 7 3:11 PM PT4:11 PM MT5:11 PM CT6:11 PM ET18:11 ET22:11 GMT6:11 3:11 PM MST5:11 PM EST4:11 PM CST5:41 PM VEN2:11 UAE (+1)4:11 PM CT-Lucas Giolito improved to 8-6, allowing one run on six hits and three walks in 5.0 innings, as the Chicago White Sox defeated the Texas Rangers 8-2 on Sunday. Giolito struck out five, ending the game with a 4.91 ERA and 1.50 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 2 8:08 PM PT9:08 PM MT10:08 PM CT11:08 PM ET23:08 ET3:08 GMT11:08 8:08 PM MST10:08 PM EST9:08 PM CST10:38 PM VEN7:08 UAE (+1)9:08 PM CT-Lucas Giolito improved to 7-6, allowing two runs on five hits and three walks in 5.0 innings, as the Chicago White Sox defeated the Kansas City Royals 9-2 on Tuesday. Giolito struck out seven, ending the game with a 5.06 ERA and 1.49 WHIP on the season.
July 27 3:58 PM PT4:58 PM MT5:58 PM CT6:58 PM ET18:58 ET22:58 GMT6:58 3:58 PM MST5:58 PM EST4:58 PM CST6:28 PM VEN2:58 UAE (+1)4:58 PM CT-Lucas Giolito allowed three runs on six hits and four walks in 5.0 innings as the Chicago White Sox lost to the Colorado Rockies 6-5 on Wednesday. Giolito struck out four, ending the game with a 5.14 ERA and 1.48 WHIP on the season.
July 22 8:38 PM PT9:38 PM MT10:38 PM CT11:38 PM ET23:38 ET3:38 GMT11:38 8:38 PM MST10:38 PM EST9:38 PM CST11:08 PM VEN7:38 UAE (+1)9:38 PM CT-Lucas Giolito fell to 6-6, allowing six runs on nine hits in 3.0 innings, as the Chicago White Sox lost to the Cleveland Guardians 8-2 on Friday. Giolito struck out two, ending the game with a 5.12 ERA and 1.46 WHIP on the season.
July 13 7:13 PM PT8:13 PM MT9:13 PM CT10:13 PM ET22:13 ET2:13 GMT10:13 7:13 PM MST9:13 PM EST8:13 PM CST9:43 PM VEN6:13 UAE (+1)8:13 PM CT-Lucas Giolito improved to 6-5, allowing one run - zero earned - on five hits and one walk in 6.1 innings, as the Chicago White Sox defeated the Cleveland Guardians 2-1 on Wednesday. Giolito struck out five, ending the game with a 4.69 ERA and 1.40 WHIP on the season.
July 8 8:15 PM PT9:15 PM MT10:15 PM CT11:15 PM ET23:15 ET3:15 GMT11:15 8:15 PM MST10:15 PM EST9:15 PM CST10:45 PM VEN7:15 UAE (+1)9:15 PM CT-Lucas Giolito fell to 5-5, allowing five runs on five hits and two walks in 6.2 innings, as the Chicago White Sox lost to the Detroit Tigers 7-5 on Friday. Giolito struck out eight, ending the game with a 5.05 ERA and 1.44 WHIP on the season.
July 3 4:32 PM PT5:32 PM MT6:32 PM CT7:32 PM ET19:32 ET23:32 GMT7:32 4:32 PM MST6:32 PM EST5:32 PM CST7:02 PM VEN3:32 UAE (+1)5:32 PM CT-Lucas Giolito improved to 5-4, allowing one run on three hits and two walks in 6.0 innings, as the Chicago White Sox defeated the San Francisco Giants 13-4 on Sunday. Giolito struck out seven, ending the game with a 4.90 ERA and 1.47 WHIP on the season.
June 28 9:28 PM PT10:28 PM MT11:28 PM CT12:28 AM ET0:28 ET4:28 GMT12:28 9:28 PM MST11:28 PM EST10:28 PM CST11:58 PM VEN8:28 UAE10:28 PM CT-Lucas Giolito allowed two runs on six hits and one walk in 6.0 innings as the Chicago White Sox lost to the Los Angeles Angels 4-3 on Monday. Giolito struck out six, ending the game with a 5.19 ERA and 1.53 WHIP on the season.
June 22 2:22 PM PT3:22 PM MT4:22 PM CT5:22 PM ET17:22 ET21:22 GMT5:22 2:22 PM MST4:22 PM EST3:22 PM CST4:52 PM VEN1:22 UAE (+1)3:22 PM CT-Lucas Giolito fell to 4-4, allowing seven runs on 11 hits and one walk in 5.0 innings, as the Chicago White Sox lost to the Toronto Blue Jays 9-5 on Wednesday. Giolito struck out three, ending the game with a 5.40 ERA and 1.56 WHIP on the season.
June 17 8:13 PM PT9:13 PM MT10:13 PM CT11:13 PM ET23:13 ET3:13 GMT11:13 8:13 PM MST10:13 PM EST9:13 PM CST10:43 PM VEN7:13 UAE (+1)9:13 PM CT-Lucas Giolito fell to 4-3, allowing eight runs on seven hits and three walks in 5.0 innings, as the Chicago White Sox lost to the Houston Astros 13-3 on Friday. Giolito struck out three, ending the game with a 4.78 ERA and 1.49 WHIP on the season.
June 11 3:20 PM PT4:20 PM MT5:20 PM CT6:20 PM ET18:20 ET22:20 GMT6:20 3:20 PM MST5:20 PM EST4:20 PM CST5:50 PM VEN2:20 UAE (+1)4:20 PM CT-Lucas Giolito allowed four runs on six hits and three walks in 5.0 innings as the Chicago White Sox lost to the Texas Rangers 11-9 on Saturday. Giolito struck out eight, ending the game with a 3.88 ERA and 1.44 WHIP on the season.
June 5 2:04 PM PT3:04 PM MT4:04 PM CT5:04 PM ET17:04 ET21:04 GMT5:04 2:04 PM MST4:04 PM EST3:04 PM CST4:34 PM VEN1:04 UAE (+1)3:04 PM CT-Lucas Giolito improved to 4-2, allowing five runs - two earned - on eight hits and two walks in 6.0 innings, as the Chicago White Sox defeated the Tampa Bay Rays 6-5 on Sunday. Giolito struck out three, ending the game with a 3.54 ERA and 1.41 WHIP on the season.
May 31 7:37 PM PT8:37 PM MT9:37 PM CT10:37 PM ET22:37 ET2:37 GMT10:37 7:37 PM MST9:37 PM EST8:37 PM CST10:07 PM VEN6:37 UAE (+1)8:37 PM CT-Lucas Giolito fell to 3-2, allowing six runs on eight hits and two walks in 4.2 innings, as the Chicago White Sox lost to the Toronto Blue Jays 6-5 on Tuesday. Giolito struck out eight, ending the game with a 3.61 ERA and 1.37 WHIP on the season.
May 25 8:44 PM PT9:44 PM MT10:44 PM CT11:44 PM ET23:44 ET3:44 GMT11:44 8:44 PM MST10:44 PM EST9:44 PM CST11:14 PM VEN7:44 UAE (+1)9:44 PM CT-Lucas Giolito improved to 3-1, allowing one run on five hits and four walks in 6.0 innings, as the Chicago White Sox defeated the Boston Red Sox 3-1 on Wednesday. Giolito struck out seven, ending the game with a 2.63 ERA and 1.27 WHIP on the season.
May 18 8:26 PM PT9:26 PM MT10:26 PM CT11:26 PM ET23:26 ET3:26 GMT11:26 8:26 PM MST10:26 PM EST9:26 PM CST10:56 PM VEN7:26 UAE (+1)9:26 PM CT-Lucas Giolito allowed two runs on seven hits and two walks in 5.0 innings as the Chicago White Sox lost to the Kansas City Royals 6-2 on Wednesday. Giolito struck out seven, ending the game with a 2.84 ERA and 1.23 WHIP on the season.
May 13 1:04 PM PT2:04 PM MT3:04 PM CT4:04 PM ET16:04 ET20:04 GMT4:04 1:04 PM MST3:04 PM EST2:04 PM CST3:34 PM VEN0:04 UAE (+1)2:04 PM CT-Giolito has been reinstated from the COVID-19 list to start Wednesday against the Royals.
Analysis: Giolito will be pitching on a little bit of extra rest after being put on the COVID list Friday. The ace right-hander held Cleveland to one run over seven innings in his most recent outing to improve to 2-1 with a 2.70 ERA in five 2022 starts.
May 10 7:59 PM PT8:59 PM MT9:59 PM CT10:59 PM ET22:59 ET2:59 GMT10:59 7:59 PM MST9:59 PM EST8:59 PM CST10:29 PM VEN6:59 UAE (+1)8:59 PM CT-Lucas Giolito improved to 2-1, allowing one run on six hits and one walk in 7.0 innings, as the Chicago White Sox defeated the Cleveland Guardians 4-1 on Tuesday. Giolito struck out five, ending the game with a 2.70 ERA and 1.13 WHIP on the season.
May 4 7:49 PM PT8:49 PM MT9:49 PM CT10:49 PM ET22:49 ET2:49 GMT10:49 7:49 PM MST9:49 PM EST8:49 PM CST10:19 PM VEN6:49 UAE (+1)8:49 PM CT-Lucas Giolito improved to 1-1, allowing three runs on three hits and two walks in 5.2 innings, as the Chicago White Sox defeated the Chicago Cubs 4-3 on Wednesday. Giolito struck out 10, ending the game with a 3.20 ERA and 1.17 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 29 7:36 PM PT8:36 PM MT9:36 PM CT10:36 PM ET22:36 ET2:36 GMT10:36 7:36 PM MST9:36 PM EST8:36 PM CST10:06 PM VEN6:36 UAE (+1)8:36 PM CT-Lucas Giolito fell to 0-1, allowing three runs on seven hits and one walk in 6.0 innings, as the Chicago White Sox lost to the Los Angeles Angels 5-1 on Friday. Giolito struck out seven, ending the game with a 2.57 ERA and 1.29 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 24 3:12 PM PT4:12 PM MT5:12 PM CT6:12 PM ET18:12 ET22:12 GMT6:12 3:12 PM MST5:12 PM EST4:12 PM CST5:42 PM VEN2:12 UAE (+1)4:12 PM CT-Lucas Giolito allowed one run on four hits and three walks in 4.0 innings as the Chicago White Sox lost to the Minnesota Twins 6-4 on Sunday. Giolito struck out nine, ending the game with a 1.13 ERA and 1.25 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 9 2:57 PM PT3:57 PM MT4:57 PM CT5:57 PM ET17:57 ET21:57 GMT5:57 2:57 PM MST4:57 PM EST3:57 PM CST5:27 PM VEN1:57 UAE (+1)3:57 PM CT-Giolito (abdominal strain) came off the injured list Sunday to start at Minnesota.
Analysis: Giolito suffered the injury on opening day, allowing one hit and two walks while striking out six over four scoreless innings.
Apr. 8 1:49 PM PT2:49 PM MT3:49 PM CT4:49 PM ET16:49 ET20:49 GMT4:49 1:49 PM MST3:49 PM EST2:49 PM CST4:19 PM VEN0:49 UAE (+1)2:49 PM CT-Lucas Giolito allowed one hit and two walks without giving up a run in 4.0 innings as the Chicago White Sox lost to the Detroit Tigers 5-4 on Friday. Giolito struck out six, ending the game with a 0.00 ERA and 0.75 WHIP on the season.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2016 Was 0 1 0 - 0 6 4 0 21.1 26 18 16 7 12 0 11 1.78 6.75
2017 CWS 3 3 0 - 0 7 7 0 45.1 31 14 12 8 12 0 34 0.95 2.38
2018 CWS 10 13 0 - 0 32 32 0 173.1 166 123 118 27 90 2 125 1.48 6.13
2019 CWS 14 9 0 - 0 29 29 3 176.2 131 69 67 24 57 1 228 1.06 3.41
2020 CWS 4 3 0 - 0 12 12 1 72.1 47 31 28 8 28 0 97 1.04 3.48
2021 CWS 11 9 0 - 0 31 31 1 178.2 145 74 70 27 52 1 201 1.10 3.53
2022 CWS 10 9 0 - 0 29 29 0 154.2 169 90 86 24 59 1 173 1.47 5.00
Career 52 47 0 - 0 146 144 5 822.1 715 419 397 125 310 5 869 1.25 4.34

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2016 Was 6 4 1 1 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .250 .250 .250
2018 CWS 32 6 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 4 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2019 CWS 29 4 0 1 0 0 0 2 0 3 0 0 .250 .250 .250
2021 CWS 31 4 0 1 0 0 0 0 0 3 0 0 .250 .250 .250
Career 146 18 1 3 0 0 0 2 0 11 0 0 .167 .167 .167

Postseason

Pitching Statistics
Year Team Round W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K ERA
2020 CWS Total 1 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 7.0 2 1 1 0 1 0 8 1.29
    WC 1 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 7.0 2 1 1 0 1 0 8 1.29
2021 CWS Total 0 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 4.1 3 4 4 0 5 0 4 8.31
    LDS 0 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 4.1 3 4 4 0 5 0 4 8.31
Career 1 0 0 - 0 2 2 0 11.1 5 5 5 0 6 0 12 3.97


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 1271 96 89 92.7 47.75
Curveball 83 82 75 79.3 3.12
Slider 636 88 80 84.5 23.89
Changeup 672 85 77 81.1 25.24


@STATS_Insights