MLB

#22
Jon Gray
ERA W-L K
3.83 7-6 116
Team: TexasHt / Wt: 6-4 / 225
Position: SPBorn: 11/5/1991 Birthplace: Shawnee, Oklahoma
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: 1st Round by Rockies (2013)


Latest News
Aug. 2 4:47 PM PT5:47 PM MT6:47 PM CT7:47 PM ET19:47 ET23:47 GMT7:47 4:47 PM MST6:47 PM EST5:47 PM CST7:17 PM VEN3:47 UAE (+1)5:47 PM CT-Gray has been placed on the injured list after straining his left oblique in Monday's start. He's expected to miss between 4-6 weeks.
Analysis: Gray may be able to return in September if the Rangers don't opt to shut their highest-priced pitcher down. The free-agent addition was on a very good run prior to Monday's outing, compiling a 6-2 record and a 2.25 ERA over a nine-start stretch in which he struck out 66 in 56 innings.
Aug. 1 8:08 PM PT9:08 PM MT10:08 PM CT11:08 PM ET23:08 ET3:08 GMT11:08 8:08 PM MST10:08 PM EST9:08 PM CST10:38 PM VEN7:08 UAE (+1)9:08 PM CT-Jon Gray fell to 7-6, allowing four runs - three earned - on four hits and one walk in 1.1 innings, as the Texas Rangers lost to the Baltimore Orioles 7-2 on Monday. Gray struck out three, ending the game with a 3.83 ERA and 1.17 WHIP on the season.
July 27 3:24 PM PT4:24 PM MT5:24 PM CT6:24 PM ET18:24 ET22:24 GMT6:24 3:24 PM MST5:24 PM EST4:24 PM CST5:54 PM VEN2:24 UAE (+1)4:24 PM CT-Jon Gray fell to 7-5, allowing four runs on five hits and four walks in 6.1 innings, as the Texas Rangers lost to the Seattle Mariners 4-2 on Wednesday. Gray struck out eight, ending the game with a 3.62 ERA and 1.14 WHIP on the season.
July 21 1:24 PM PT2:24 PM MT3:24 PM CT4:24 PM ET16:24 ET20:24 GMT4:24 1:24 PM MST3:24 PM EST2:24 PM CST3:54 PM VEN0:24 UAE (+1)2:24 PM CT-Jon Gray improved to 7-4, allowing four hits and two walks over 6.0 scoreless innings, as the Texas Rangers defeated the Miami Marlins 8-0 on Thursday. Gray struck out five, ending the game with a 3.48 ERA and 1.12 WHIP on the season.
July 13 7:50 PM PT8:50 PM MT9:50 PM CT10:50 PM ET22:50 ET2:50 GMT10:50 7:50 PM MST9:50 PM EST8:50 PM CST10:20 PM VEN6:50 UAE (+1)8:50 PM CT-Jon Gray improved to 6-4, allowing one hit over 7.0 scoreless innings, as the Texas Rangers defeated the Oakland Athletics 5-2 on Wednesday. Gray struck out nine, ending the game with a 3.71 ERA and 1.13 WHIP on the season.
July 8 8:36 PM PT9:36 PM MT10:36 PM CT11:36 PM ET23:36 ET3:36 GMT11:36 8:36 PM MST10:36 PM EST9:36 PM CST11:06 PM VEN7:36 UAE (+1)9:36 PM CT-Jon Gray improved to 5-4, allowing five runs - three earned - on nine hits and one walk in 5.1 innings, as the Texas Rangers defeated the Minnesota Twins 6-5 on Friday. Gray struck out eight, ending the game with a 4.03 ERA and 1.21 WHIP on the season.
July 3 1:44 PM PT2:44 PM MT3:44 PM CT4:44 PM ET16:44 ET20:44 GMT4:44 1:44 PM MST3:44 PM EST2:44 PM CST4:14 PM VEN0:44 UAE (+1)2:44 PM CT-Jon Gray fell to 4-4, allowing four runs - three earned - on six hits and one walk in 5.2 innings, as the Texas Rangers lost to the New York Mets 4-1 on Sunday. Gray struck out seven, ending the game with a 3.96 ERA and 1.16 WHIP on the season.
June 28 8:06 PM PT9:06 PM MT10:06 PM CT11:06 PM ET23:06 ET3:06 GMT11:06 8:06 PM MST10:06 PM EST9:06 PM CST10:36 PM VEN7:06 UAE (+1)9:06 PM CT-Jon Gray improved to 4-3, allowing one run on five hits and two walks in 7.0 innings, as the Texas Rangers defeated the Kansas City Royals 8-3 on Tuesday. Gray struck out eight, ending the game with a 3.89 ERA and 1.16 WHIP on the season.
June 22 4:26 PM PT5:26 PM MT6:26 PM CT7:26 PM ET19:26 ET23:26 GMT7:26 4:26 PM MST6:26 PM EST5:26 PM CST6:56 PM VEN3:26 UAE (+1)5:26 PM CT-Jon Gray improved to 3-3, allowing two runs on four hits and one walk in 5.2 innings, as the Texas Rangers defeated the Philadelphia Phillies 4-2 on Wednesday. Gray struck out five, ending the game with a 4.18 ERA and 1.18 WHIP on the season.
June 17 7:15 PM PT8:15 PM MT9:15 PM CT10:15 PM ET22:15 ET2:15 GMT10:15 7:15 PM MST9:15 PM EST8:15 PM CST9:45 PM VEN6:15 UAE (+1)8:15 PM CT-Jon Gray improved to 2-3, allowing five hits over 7.0 scoreless innings, as the Texas Rangers defeated the Detroit Tigers 7-0 on Friday. Gray struck out six, ending the game with a 4.27 ERA and 1.20 WHIP on the season.
June 12 3:38 PM PT4:38 PM MT5:38 PM CT6:38 PM ET18:38 ET22:38 GMT6:38 3:38 PM MST5:38 PM EST4:38 PM CST6:08 PM VEN2:38 UAE (+1)4:38 PM CT-Jon Gray allowed one run on three hits and three walks in 6.0 innings as the Texas Rangers defeated the Chicago White Sox 8-6 on Sunday. Gray struck out 10, ending the game with a 4.85 ERA and 1.27 WHIP on the season.
June 7 4:15 PM PT5:15 PM MT6:15 PM CT7:15 PM ET19:15 ET23:15 GMT7:15 4:15 PM MST6:15 PM EST5:15 PM CST6:45 PM VEN3:15 UAE (+1)5:15 PM CT-Jon Gray fell to 1-3, allowing five runs on six hits and four walks in 5.0 innings, as the Texas Rangers lost to the Cleveland Guardians 6-3 on Tuesday. Gray struck out three, ending the game with a 5.28 ERA and 1.30 WHIP on the season.
June 2 9:15 PM PT10:15 PM MT11:15 PM CT12:15 AM ET0:15 ET4:15 GMT12:15 9:15 PM MST11:15 PM EST10:15 PM CST11:45 PM VEN8:15 UAE10:15 PM CT-Jon Gray allowed one run on three hits and two walks in 7.0 innings as the Texas Rangers lost to the Tampa Bay Rays 4-3 on Wednesday. Gray struck out 12, ending the game with a 4.83 ERA and 1.22 WHIP on the season.
May 28 9:43 PM PT10:43 PM MT11:43 PM CT12:43 AM ET0:43 ET4:43 GMT12:43 9:43 PM MST11:43 PM EST10:43 PM CST12:13 AM VEN8:43 UAE10:43 PM CT-Jon Gray allowed five runs on five hits and three walks in 6.0 innings as the Texas Rangers defeated the Oakland Athletics 8-5 on Friday. Gray struck out five, ending the game with a 5.56 ERA and 1.32 WHIP on the season.
May 21 7:07 PM PT8:07 PM MT9:07 PM CT10:07 PM ET22:07 ET2:07 GMT10:07 7:07 PM MST9:07 PM EST8:07 PM CST9:37 PM VEN6:07 UAE (+1)8:07 PM CT-Jon Gray fell to 1-2, allowing two runs on six hits and two walks in 6.0 innings, as the Texas Rangers lost to the Houston Astros 2-1 on Saturday. Gray struck out four, ending the game with a 5.14 ERA and 1.32 WHIP on the season.
May 16 8:05 PM PT9:05 PM MT10:05 PM CT11:05 PM ET23:05 ET3:05 GMT11:05 8:05 PM MST10:05 PM EST9:05 PM CST10:35 PM VEN7:05 UAE (+1)9:05 PM CT-Jon Gray improved to 1-1, allowing four runs on eight hits and one walk in 5.2 innings, as the Texas Rangers defeated the Los Angeles Angels 7-4 on Monday. Gray struck out eight, ending the game with a 5.73 ERA and 1.32 WHIP on the season.
May 9 12:56 PM PT1:56 PM MT2:56 PM CT3:56 PM ET15:56 ET19:56 GMT3:56 12:56 PM MST2:56 PM EST1:56 PM CST3:26 PM VEN23:56 UAE1:56 PM CT-Jon Gray allowed two hits and three walks without giving up a run in 4.1 innings as the Texas Rangers lost to the New York Yankees 1-0 on Monday. Gray struck out four, ending the game with a 5.51 ERA and 1.22 WHIP on the season.
May 3 6:57 PM PT7:57 PM MT8:57 PM CT9:57 PM ET21:57 ET1:57 GMT9:57 6:57 PM MST8:57 PM EST7:57 PM CST9:27 PM VEN5:57 UAE (+1)7:57 PM CT-Jon Gray allowed three runs on five hits and one walk in 3.0 innings as the Texas Rangers defeated the Philadelphia Phillies 6-4 on Tuesday. Gray struck out three, ending the game with a 7.50 ERA and 1.25 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 21 8:06 PM PT9:06 PM MT10:06 PM CT11:06 PM ET23:06 ET3:06 GMT11:06 8:06 PM MST10:06 PM EST9:06 PM CST10:36 PM VEN7:06 UAE (+1)9:06 PM CT-Gray (sprained left knee) has been activated from the injured list to start Tuesday at Philadelphia.
Analysis: Gray will end up missing two weeks on his second IL stint of the young season, as he previously was out 10 days with a blister on his right finger. The free-agent addition has allowed seven runs in nine innings in his two starts this season.
Apr. 20 9:21 PM PT10:21 PM MT11:21 PM CT12:21 AM ET0:21 ET4:21 GMT12:21 9:21 PM MST11:21 PM EST10:21 PM CST11:51 PM VEN8:21 UAE10:21 PM CT-Jon Gray fell to 0-1, allowing four runs on three hits and one walk in 5.0 innings, as the Texas Rangers lost to the Seattle Mariners 6-2 on Tuesday. Gray struck out four, ending the game with a 7.00 ERA and 1.00 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 8 8:14 PM PT9:14 PM MT10:14 PM CT11:14 PM ET23:14 ET3:14 GMT11:14 8:14 PM MST10:14 PM EST9:14 PM CST10:44 PM VEN7:14 UAE (+1)9:14 PM CT-Jon Gray allowed three runs on three hits and two walks in 4.0 innings as the Texas Rangers lost to the Toronto Blue Jays 10-8 on Friday. Gray struck out four, ending the game with a 6.75 ERA and 1.25 WHIP on the season.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2015 Col 0 2 0 - 0 9 9 0 40.2 52 26 25 4 14 2 40 1.62 5.53
2016 Col 10 10 0 - 0 29 29 1 168.0 153 92 86 18 59 2 185 1.26 4.61
2017 Col 10 4 0 - 0 20 20 0 110.1 113 47 45 10 30 0 112 1.30 3.67
2018 Col 12 9 0 - 0 31 31 0 172.1 180 102 98 27 52 1 183 1.35 5.12
2019 Col 11 8 0 - 0 26 25 0 150.0 147 70 64 19 56 4 150 1.35 3.84
2020 Col 2 4 0 - 0 8 8 0 39.0 45 31 29 6 11 0 22 1.44 6.69
2021 Col 8 12 0 - 0 29 29 0 149.0 140 83 76 21 58 2 157 1.33 4.59
2022 Tex 7 6 0 - 0 19 19 0 103.1 87 48 44 12 34 0 116 1.17 3.83
Career 60 55 0 - 0 171 170 1 932.2 917 499 467 117 314 11 965 1.32 4.51

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2015 Col 9 11 1 0 0 0 0 0 2 6 0 0 .000 .154 .000
2016 Col 29 47 2 7 2 0 0 4 2 30 0 0 .149 .184 .191
2017 Col 20 38 3 3 0 0 1 3 1 27 0 0 .079 .103 .158
2018 Col 31 52 2 4 2 0 0 2 3 30 0 0 .077 .127 .115
2019 Col 27 47 1 3 0 0 0 1 3 22 0 0 .064 .120 .064
2021 Col 31 47 2 5 0 0 0 3 0 32 0 0 .106 .106 .106
Career 174 242 11 22 4 0 1 13 11 147 0 0 .091 .130 .120

Postseason

Pitching Statistics
Year Team Round W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K ERA
2017 Col Total 0 1 0 - 0 1 1 0 1.1 7 4 4 1 0 0 2 27.00
    WC 0 1 0 - 0 1 1 0 1.1 7 4 4 1 0 0 2 27.00
Career 0 1 0 - 0 1 1 0 1.1 7 4 4 1 0 0 2 27.00


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 828 99 92 96 49.11
Curveball 70 81 75 77.9 4.15
Slider 615 88 81 85.2 36.48
Changeup 173 91 86 88.8 10.26


@STATS_Insights