MLB

#24
Johan Oviedo
ERA W-L K
4.31 9-14 158
Team: PittsburghHt / Wt: 6-5 / 245
Position: SPBorn: 3/2/1998 Birthplace: Havana, Cuba
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: Undrafted by Cardinals (2016)


Latest News
Sep. 27 6:27 PM PT7:27 PM MT8:27 PM CT9:27 PM ET21:27 ET1:27 GMT9:27 6:27 PM MST8:27 PM EST7:27 PM CST8:57 PM VEN5:27 UAE (+1)7:27 PM CT-Johan Oviedo allowed six runs on seven hits and two walks in 5.0 innings as the Pittsburgh Pirates lost to the Philadelphia Phillies 7-6 on Wednesday. Oviedo struck out six, ending the game with a 4.31 ERA and 1.37 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 21 7:50 PM PT8:50 PM MT9:50 PM CT10:50 PM ET22:50 ET2:50 GMT10:50 7:50 PM MST9:50 PM EST8:50 PM CST10:20 PM VEN6:50 UAE (+1)8:50 PM CT-Johan Oviedo improved to 9-14, allowing four hits and five walks over 6.0 scoreless innings, as the Pittsburgh Pirates defeated the Chicago Cubs 8-6 on Thursday. Oviedo struck out five, ending the game with a 4.12 ERA and 1.36 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 15 7:05 PM PT8:05 PM MT9:05 PM CT10:05 PM ET22:05 ET2:05 GMT10:05 7:05 PM MST9:05 PM EST8:05 PM CST9:35 PM VEN6:05 UAE (+1)8:05 PM CT-Johan Oviedo allowed one run on four hits and five walks in 5.0 innings as the Pittsburgh Pirates lost to the New York Yankees 7-5 on Friday. Oviedo struck out seven, ending the game with a 4.27 ERA and 1.36 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 9 7:41 PM PT8:41 PM MT9:41 PM CT10:41 PM ET22:41 ET2:41 GMT10:41 7:41 PM MST9:41 PM EST8:41 PM CST10:11 PM VEN6:41 UAE (+1)8:41 PM CT-Johan Oviedo allowed three runs on nine hits and one walk in 3.2 innings as the Pittsburgh Pirates defeated the Atlanta Braves 8-4 on Saturday. Oviedo struck out four, ending the game with a 4.34 ERA and 1.34 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 3 2:16 PM PT3:16 PM MT4:16 PM CT5:16 PM ET17:16 ET21:16 GMT5:16 2:16 PM MST4:16 PM EST3:16 PM CST4:46 PM VEN1:16 UAE (+1)3:16 PM CT-Johan Oviedo fell to 8-14, allowing five runs - three earned - on four hits and six walks in 3.2 innings, as the Pittsburgh Pirates lost to the St. Louis Cardinals 6-4 on Sunday. Oviedo struck out two, ending the game with a 4.27 ERA and 1.31 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 28 7:32 PM PT8:32 PM MT9:32 PM CT10:32 PM ET22:32 ET2:32 GMT10:32 7:32 PM MST9:32 PM EST8:32 PM CST10:02 PM VEN6:32 UAE (+1)8:32 PM CT-Johan Oviedo improved to 8-13, allowing two hits and two walks in a complete-game shutout, as the Pittsburgh Pirates defeated the Kansas City Royals 5-0 on Monday. Oviedo struck out five, ending the game with a 4.20 ERA and 1.28 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 22 6:48 PM PT7:48 PM MT8:48 PM CT9:48 PM ET21:48 ET1:48 GMT9:48 6:48 PM MST8:48 PM EST7:48 PM CST9:18 PM VEN5:48 UAE (+1)7:48 PM CT-Johan Oviedo improved to 7-13, allowing one run on four hits and one walk in 5.0 innings, as the Pittsburgh Pirates defeated the St. Louis Cardinals 6-3 on Tuesday. Oviedo struck out five, ending the game with a 4.46 ERA and 1.33 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 16 1:16 PM PT2:16 PM MT3:16 PM CT4:16 PM ET16:16 ET20:16 GMT4:16 1:16 PM MST3:16 PM EST2:16 PM CST3:46 PM VEN0:16 UAE (+1)2:16 PM CT-Johan Oviedo fell to 6-13, allowing four runs on five hits and five walks in 4.0 innings, as the Pittsburgh Pirates lost to the New York Mets 8-3 on Wednesday. Oviedo struck out three, ending the game with a 4.55 ERA and 1.34 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 11 7:04 PM PT8:04 PM MT9:04 PM CT10:04 PM ET22:04 ET2:04 GMT10:04 7:04 PM MST9:04 PM EST8:04 PM CST9:34 PM VEN6:04 UAE (+1)8:04 PM CT-Johan Oviedo fell to 6-12, allowing six runs on five hits and two walks in 5.0 innings, as the Pittsburgh Pirates lost to the Cincinnati Reds 9-2 on Friday. Oviedo struck out four, ending the game with a 4.42 ERA and 1.31 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 6 1:46 PM PT2:46 PM MT3:46 PM CT4:46 PM ET16:46 ET20:46 GMT4:46 1:46 PM MST3:46 PM EST2:46 PM CST4:16 PM VEN0:46 UAE (+1)2:46 PM CT-Johan Oviedo improved to 6-11, allowing two hits and three walks over 7.0 scoreless innings, as the Pittsburgh Pirates defeated the Milwaukee Brewers 4-1 on Sunday. Oviedo struck out six, ending the game with a 4.18 ERA and 1.30 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 1 6:16 PM PT7:16 PM MT8:16 PM CT9:16 PM ET21:16 ET1:16 GMT9:16 6:16 PM MST8:16 PM EST7:16 PM CST8:46 PM VEN5:16 UAE (+1)7:16 PM CT-Johan Oviedo improved to 5-11, allowing one run on six hits and two walks in 7.0 innings, as the Pittsburgh Pirates defeated the Detroit Tigers 4-1 on Tuesday. Oviedo struck out five, ending the game with a 4.42 ERA and 1.34 WHIP on the season.
July 26 3:39 PM PT4:39 PM MT5:39 PM CT6:39 PM ET18:39 ET22:39 GMT6:39 3:39 PM MST5:39 PM EST4:39 PM CST6:09 PM VEN2:39 UAE (+1)4:39 PM CT-Johan Oviedo improved to 4-11, allowing one run on three hits and three walks in 6.0 innings, as the Pittsburgh Pirates defeated the San Diego Padres 3-2 on Wednesday. Oviedo struck out five, ending the game with a 4.60 ERA and 1.35 WHIP on the season.
July 22 9:17 PM PT10:17 PM MT11:17 PM CT12:17 AM ET0:17 ET4:17 GMT12:17 9:17 PM MST11:17 PM EST10:17 PM CST11:47 PM VEN8:17 UAE10:17 PM CT-Johan Oviedo fell to 3-11, allowing five runs on three hits and three walks in 4.0 innings, as the Pittsburgh Pirates lost to the Los Angeles Angels 8-5 on Friday. Oviedo struck out four, ending the game with a 4.77 ERA and 1.37 WHIP on the season.
July 15 7:19 PM PT8:19 PM MT9:19 PM CT10:19 PM ET22:19 ET2:19 GMT10:19 7:19 PM MST9:19 PM EST8:19 PM CST9:49 PM VEN6:19 UAE (+1)8:19 PM CT-Johan Oviedo allowed one run on one hit and three walks in 7.0 innings as the Pittsburgh Pirates lost to the San Francisco Giants 3-1 on Saturday. Oviedo struck out 10, ending the game with a 4.53 ERA and 1.36 WHIP on the season.
July 7 9:28 PM PT10:28 PM MT11:28 PM CT12:28 AM ET0:28 ET4:28 GMT12:28 9:28 PM MST11:28 PM EST10:28 PM CST11:58 PM VEN8:28 UAE10:28 PM CT-Johan Oviedo fell to 3-10, allowing five runs on six hits and two walks in 6.2 innings, as the Pittsburgh Pirates lost to the Los Angeles Dodgers 5-2 on Thursday. Oviedo struck out six, ending the game with a 4.75 ERA and 1.42 WHIP on the season.
July 1 5:17 PM PT6:17 PM MT7:17 PM CT8:17 PM ET20:17 ET0:17 GMT8:17 5:17 PM MST7:17 PM EST6:17 PM CST7:47 PM VEN4:17 UAE (+1)6:17 PM CT-Johan Oviedo fell to 3-9, allowing eight runs on nine hits and three walks in 5.0 innings, as the Pittsburgh Pirates lost to the Milwaukee Brewers 11-8 on Saturday. Oviedo struck out one, ending the game with a 4.61 ERA and 1.43 WHIP on the season.
June 25 12:56 PM PT1:56 PM MT2:56 PM CT3:56 PM ET15:56 ET19:56 GMT3:56 12:56 PM MST2:56 PM EST1:56 PM CST3:26 PM VEN23:56 UAE1:56 PM CT-Johan Oviedo fell to 3-8, allowing one run on six hits in 7.0 innings, as the Pittsburgh Pirates lost to the Miami Marlins 2-0 on Sunday. Oviedo struck out six, ending the game with a 4.06 ERA and 1.38 WHIP on the season.
June 20 6:42 PM PT7:42 PM MT8:42 PM CT9:42 PM ET21:42 ET1:42 GMT9:42 6:42 PM MST8:42 PM EST7:42 PM CST9:12 PM VEN5:42 UAE (+1)7:42 PM CT-Johan Oviedo fell to 3-7, allowing two runs on five hits in 6.0 innings, as the Pittsburgh Pirates lost to the Chicago Cubs 4-0 on Tuesday. Oviedo struck out three, ending the game with a 4.30 ERA and 1.42 WHIP on the season.
June 15 7:56 PM PT8:56 PM MT9:56 PM CT10:56 PM ET22:56 ET2:56 GMT10:56 7:56 PM MST9:56 PM EST8:56 PM CST10:26 PM VEN6:56 UAE (+1)8:56 PM CT-Johan Oviedo fell to 3-6, allowing four runs on eight hits and one walk in 4.1 innings, as the Pittsburgh Pirates lost to the Chicago Cubs 7-2 on Thursday. Oviedo struck out eight, ending the game with a 4.40 ERA and 1.47 WHIP on the season.
June 10 3:41 PM PT4:41 PM MT5:41 PM CT6:41 PM ET18:41 ET22:41 GMT6:41 3:41 PM MST5:41 PM EST4:41 PM CST6:11 PM VEN2:41 UAE (+1)4:41 PM CT-Johan Oviedo fell to 3-5, allowing two runs on four hits and two walks in 6.1 innings, as the Pittsburgh Pirates lost to the New York Mets 5-1 on Saturday. Oviedo struck out five, ending the game with a 4.16 ERA and 1.43 WHIP on the season.
June 5 7:26 PM PT8:26 PM MT9:26 PM CT10:26 PM ET22:26 ET2:26 GMT10:26 7:26 PM MST9:26 PM EST8:26 PM CST9:56 PM VEN6:26 UAE (+1)8:26 PM CT-Johan Oviedo allowed three runs - two earned - on four hits and two walks in 7.0 innings as the Pittsburgh Pirates defeated the Oakland Athletics 5-4 on Monday. Oviedo struck out five, ending the game with a 4.29 ERA and 1.48 WHIP on the season.
May 31 9:37 PM PT10:37 PM MT11:37 PM CT12:37 AM ET0:37 ET4:37 GMT12:37 9:37 PM MST11:37 PM EST10:37 PM CST12:07 AM VEN8:37 UAE10:37 PM CT-Johan Oviedo allowed one run on three hits and five walks in 4.1 innings as the Pittsburgh Pirates defeated the San Francisco Giants 2-1 on Tuesday. Oviedo struck out five, ending the game with a 4.50 ERA and 1.55 WHIP on the season.
May 24 12:10 PM PT1:10 PM MT2:10 PM CT3:10 PM ET15:10 ET19:10 GMT3:10 12:10 PM MST2:10 PM EST1:10 PM CST2:40 PM VEN23:10 UAE1:10 PM CT-Johan Oviedo fell to 3-4, allowing three runs on six hits and two walks in 5.2 innings, as the Pittsburgh Pirates lost to the Texas Rangers 3-2 on Wednesday. Oviedo struck out five, ending the game with a 4.70 ERA and 1.53 WHIP on the season.
May 19 6:42 PM PT7:42 PM MT8:42 PM CT9:42 PM ET21:42 ET1:42 GMT9:42 6:42 PM MST8:42 PM EST7:42 PM CST9:12 PM VEN5:42 UAE (+1)7:42 PM CT-Johan Oviedo improved to 3-3, allowing one run on two hits and three walks in 6.0 innings, as the Pittsburgh Pirates defeated the Arizona Diamondbacks 13-3 on Friday. Oviedo struck out seven, ending the game with a 4.69 ERA and 1.54 WHIP on the season.
May 12 7:00 PM PT8:00 PM MT9:00 PM CT10:00 PM ET22:00 ET2:00 GMT10:00 7:00 PM MST9:00 PM EST8:00 PM CST9:30 PM VEN6:00 UAE (+1)8:00 PM CT-Johan Oviedo allowed one run on four hits and five walks in 5.0 innings as the Pittsburgh Pirates lost to the Baltimore Orioles 6-3 on Friday. Oviedo struck out three, ending the game with a 5.14 ERA and 1.64 WHIP on the season.
May 6 6:11 PM PT7:11 PM MT8:11 PM CT9:11 PM ET21:11 ET1:11 GMT9:11 6:11 PM MST8:11 PM EST7:11 PM CST8:41 PM VEN5:11 UAE (+1)7:11 PM CT-Johan Oviedo fell to 2-3, allowing seven runs - six earned - on 10 hits and three walks in 5.0 innings, as the Pittsburgh Pirates lost to the Toronto Blue Jays 8-2 on Saturday. Oviedo struck out three, ending the game with a 5.59 ERA and 1.62 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 30 3:48 PM PT4:48 PM MT5:48 PM CT6:48 PM ET18:48 ET22:48 GMT6:48 3:48 PM MST5:48 PM EST4:48 PM CST6:18 PM VEN2:48 UAE (+1)4:48 PM CT-Johan Oviedo fell to 2-2, allowing seven runs on nine hits and two walks in 2.1 innings, as the Pittsburgh Pirates lost to the Washington Nationals 7-2 on Sunday. Oviedo struck out one, ending the game with a 4.78 ERA and 1.47 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 25 6:28 PM PT7:28 PM MT8:28 PM CT9:28 PM ET21:28 ET1:28 GMT9:28 6:28 PM MST8:28 PM EST7:28 PM CST8:58 PM VEN5:28 UAE (+1)7:28 PM CT-Johan Oviedo allowed five runs - four earned - on six hits and two walks in 5.1 innings as the Pittsburgh Pirates lost to the Los Angeles Dodgers 8-7 on Tuesday. Oviedo struck out four, ending the game with a 3.03 ERA and 1.21 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 19 2:48 PM PT3:48 PM MT4:48 PM CT5:48 PM ET17:48 ET21:48 GMT5:48 2:48 PM MST4:48 PM EST3:48 PM CST5:18 PM VEN1:48 UAE (+1)3:48 PM CT-Johan Oviedo improved to 2-1, allowing one run on three hits and three walks in 6.0 innings, as the Pittsburgh Pirates defeated the Colorado Rockies 14-3 on Wednesday. Oviedo struck out six, ending the game with a 2.22 ERA and 1.15 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 14 7:36 PM PT8:36 PM MT9:36 PM CT10:36 PM ET22:36 ET2:36 GMT10:36 7:36 PM MST9:36 PM EST8:36 PM CST10:06 PM VEN6:36 UAE (+1)8:36 PM CT-Johan Oviedo fell to 1-1, allowing one run on six hits and one walk in 7.0 innings, as the Pittsburgh Pirates lost to the St. Louis Cardinals 3-0 on Friday. Oviedo struck out 10, ending the game with a 2.45 ERA and 1.20 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 9 1:06 PM PT2:06 PM MT3:06 PM CT4:06 PM ET16:06 ET20:06 GMT4:06 1:06 PM MST3:06 PM EST2:06 PM CST3:36 PM VEN0:06 UAE (+1)2:06 PM CT-Johan Oviedo improved to 1-0, allowing five hits over 6.2 scoreless innings, as the Pittsburgh Pirates defeated the Chicago White Sox 1-0 on Sunday. Oviedo struck out five, ending the game with a 3.18 ERA and 1.32 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 3 7:18 PM PT8:18 PM MT9:18 PM CT10:18 PM ET22:18 ET2:18 GMT10:18 7:18 PM MST9:18 PM EST8:18 PM CST9:48 PM VEN6:18 UAE (+1)8:18 PM CT-Johan Oviedo allowed five runs - four earned - on six hits and four walks in 4.2 innings as the Pittsburgh Pirates defeated the Boston Red Sox 7-6 on Monday. Oviedo struck out four, ending the game with a 7.71 ERA and 2.14 WHIP on the season.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2020 StL 0 3 0 - 0 5 5 0 24.2 24 18 15 3 10 0 16 1.38 5.47
2021 StL 0 5 0 - 0 14 13 0 62.1 61 39 34 8 37 2 51 1.57 4.91
2022 StL 2 1 0 - 0 14 1 0 25.1 26 9 9 4 7 0 26 1.30 3.20
2022 Pit 2 2 0 - 0 7 7 0 30.2 23 12 11 1 16 0 28 1.27 3.23
2022 Tot 4 3 0 - 0 21 8 0 56.0 49 21 20 5 23 0 54 1.29 3.21
2023 Pit 9 14 0 - 0 32 32 1 177.2 161 91 85 19 83 1 158 1.37 4.31
Career 13 25 0 - 0 72 58 1 320.2 295 169 154 35 153 3 279 1.40 4.32

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2021 StL 14 20 3 3 0 0 0 2 2 9 0 0 .150 .227 .150
Career 72 20 3 3 0 0 0 2 2 9 0 0 .150 .227 .150


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 1318 99 90 95.8 44.23
Curveball 442 85 73 81 14.83
Slider 1098 93 83 88.2 36.85
Changeup 122 91 84 88.1 4.09


@STATS_Insights