MLB

#16
Yusei Kikuchi
ERA W-L K
5.48 5-7 116
Team: TorontoHt / Wt: 6-0 / 200
Position: SPBorn: 6/17/1991 Birthplace: Morioka, Japan
Bats/Throws: L/L Draft: Signed via MLB-Japan


Latest News
Sep. 25 1:18 PM PT2:18 PM MT3:18 PM CT4:18 PM ET16:18 ET20:18 GMT4:18 1:18 PM MST3:18 PM EST2:18 PM CST3:48 PM VEN0:18 UAE (+1)2:18 PM CT-Yusei Kikuchi walked one and didn't allow a hit in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Toronto Blue Jays defeated the Tampa Bay Rays 7-1 on Sunday. Kikuchi struck out two, ending the game with a 5.48 ERA and 1.56 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 16 6:53 PM PT7:53 PM MT8:53 PM CT9:53 PM ET21:53 ET1:53 GMT9:53 6:53 PM MST8:53 PM EST7:53 PM CST9:23 PM VEN5:53 UAE (+1)7:53 PM CT-Yusei Kikuchi improved to 5-7, allowing two runs on two hits in 2.0 innings, as the Toronto Blue Jays defeated the Baltimore Orioles 6-3 on Friday. Kikuchi struck out four, ending the game with a 5.53 ERA and 1.57 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 11 3:01 PM PT4:01 PM MT5:01 PM CT6:01 PM ET18:01 ET22:01 GMT6:01 3:01 PM MST5:01 PM EST4:01 PM CST5:31 PM VEN2:01 UAE (+1)4:01 PM CT-Yusei Kikuchi allowed two runs on four hits and one walk in 2.0 innings as the Toronto Blue Jays lost to the Texas Rangers 4-1 on Sunday. Kikuchi struck out three, ending the game with a 5.46 ERA and 1.58 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 6 8:22 PM PT9:22 PM MT10:22 PM CT11:22 PM ET23:22 ET3:22 GMT11:22 8:22 PM MST10:22 PM EST9:22 PM CST10:52 PM VEN7:22 UAE (+1)9:22 PM CT-Yusei Kikuchi allowed one run on two hits in 0.2 innings as the Toronto Blue Jays lost to the Baltimore Orioles 9-6 on Tuesday. Kikuchi struck out one, ending the game with a 5.38 ERA and 1.56 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 3 7:16 PM PT8:16 PM MT9:16 PM CT10:16 PM ET22:16 ET2:16 GMT10:16 7:16 PM MST9:16 PM EST8:16 PM CST9:46 PM VEN6:16 UAE (+1)8:16 PM CT-Yusei Kikuchi allowed one run on four hits and one walk in 2.1 innings as the Toronto Blue Jays defeated the Pittsburgh Pirates 4-1 on Saturday. Kikuchi struck out five, ending the game with a 5.32 ERA and 1.55 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 28 2:00 PM PT3:00 PM MT4:00 PM CT5:00 PM ET17:00 ET21:00 GMT5:00 2:00 PM MST4:00 PM EST3:00 PM CST4:30 PM VEN1:00 UAE (+1)3:00 PM CT-Yusei Kikuchi did not allow a hit or walk in 0.1 scoreless innings as the Toronto Blue Jays lost to the Los Angeles Angels 8-3 on Sunday. Kikuchi struck out one, ending the game with a 5.36 ERA and 1.53 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 26 7:32 PM PT8:32 PM MT9:32 PM CT10:32 PM ET22:32 ET2:32 GMT10:32 7:32 PM MST9:32 PM EST8:32 PM CST10:02 PM VEN6:32 UAE (+1)8:32 PM CT-Yusei Kikuchi allowed three runs on three hits and one walk in 3.0 innings as the Toronto Blue Jays lost to the Los Angeles Angels 12-0 on Friday. Kikuchi struck out six, ending the game with a 5.38 ERA and 1.54 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 23 8:41 PM PT9:41 PM MT10:41 PM CT11:41 PM ET23:41 ET3:41 GMT11:41 8:41 PM MST10:41 PM EST9:41 PM CST11:11 PM VEN7:41 UAE (+1)9:41 PM CT-Yusei Kikuchi allowed one run on zero hits and three walks in 0.2 innings as the Toronto Blue Jays defeated the Boston Red Sox 9-3 on Tuesday. Kikuchi struck out one, ending the game with a 5.25 ERA and 1.55 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 18 7:27 PM PT8:27 PM MT9:27 PM CT10:27 PM ET22:27 ET2:27 GMT10:27 7:27 PM MST9:27 PM EST8:27 PM CST9:57 PM VEN6:27 UAE (+1)8:27 PM CT-Yusei Kikuchi allowed one hit and one walk without giving up a run in 1.0 inning as the Toronto Blue Jays defeated the New York Yankees 9-2 on Thursday. Kikuchi struck out two, ending the game with a 5.18 ERA and 1.52 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 15 7:40 PM PT8:40 PM MT9:40 PM CT10:40 PM ET22:40 ET2:40 GMT10:40 7:40 PM MST9:40 PM EST8:40 PM CST10:10 PM VEN6:40 UAE (+1)8:40 PM CT-Yusei Kikuchi fell to 4-7, allowing six runs - three earned - on four hits and three walks in 3.1 innings, as the Toronto Blue Jays lost to the Baltimore Orioles 7-3 on Monday. Kikuchi struck out three, ending the game with a 5.25 ERA and 1.52 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 8 7:07 PM PT8:07 PM MT9:07 PM CT10:07 PM ET22:07 ET2:07 GMT10:07 7:07 PM MST9:07 PM EST8:07 PM CST9:37 PM VEN6:07 UAE (+1)8:07 PM CT-Yusei Kikuchi fell to 4-6, allowing five runs on six hits and three walks in 5.0 innings, as the Toronto Blue Jays lost to the Baltimore Orioles 7-4 on Monday. Kikuchi struck out four, ending the game with a 5.13 ERA and 1.49 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 3 12:05 PM PT1:05 PM MT2:05 PM CT3:05 PM ET15:05 ET19:05 GMT3:05 12:05 PM MST2:05 PM EST1:05 PM CST2:35 PM VEN23:05 UAE1:05 PM CT-Yusei Kikuchi allowed two runs on three hits and one walk in 4.0 innings as the Toronto Blue Jays lost to the Tampa Bay Rays 3-2 on Wednesday. Kikuchi struck out five, ending the game with a 4.86 ERA and 1.47 WHIP on the season.
July 28 7:10 PM PT8:10 PM MT9:10 PM CT10:10 PM ET22:10 ET2:10 GMT10:10 7:10 PM MST9:10 PM EST8:10 PM CST9:40 PM VEN6:10 UAE (+1)8:10 PM CT-Yusei Kikuchi improved to 4-5, allowing one run on two hits and one walk in 5.0 innings, as the Toronto Blue Jays defeated the Detroit Tigers 5-3 on Thursday. Kikuchi struck out five, ending the game with a 4.89 ERA and 1.50 WHIP on the season.
July 7 8:02 PM PT9:02 PM MT10:02 PM CT11:02 PM ET23:02 ET3:02 GMT11:02 8:02 PM MST10:02 PM EST9:02 PM CST10:32 PM VEN7:02 UAE (+1)9:02 PM CT-Kikuchi (neck strain) will come off the injured list Thursday and start against the Tigers.
Analysis: Kikuchi delivered five innings of two-hit shutout ball in a rehab start for Triple-A Buffalo on Friday. He posted a 3.48 ERA over his first nine starts of 2022, but went 1-4 with a 7.99 ERA in his next seven outings before going on the injured list July 7.
July 6 9:25 PM PT10:25 PM MT11:25 PM CT12:25 AM ET0:25 ET4:25 GMT12:25 9:25 PM MST11:25 PM EST10:25 PM CST11:55 PM VEN8:25 UAE10:25 PM CT-Yusei Kikuchi fell to 3-5, allowing four runs on two hits and five walks in 2.1 innings, as the Toronto Blue Jays lost to the Oakland Athletics 5-3 on Tuesday. Kikuchi did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 5.12 ERA and 1.57 WHIP on the season.
June 30 7:11 PM PT8:11 PM MT9:11 PM CT10:11 PM ET22:11 ET2:11 GMT10:11 7:11 PM MST9:11 PM EST8:11 PM CST9:41 PM VEN6:11 UAE (+1)8:11 PM CT-Yusei Kikuchi improved to 3-4, allowing one run on four hits and one walk in 6.0 innings, as the Toronto Blue Jays defeated the Tampa Bay Rays 4-1 on Thursday. Kikuchi struck out eight, ending the game with a 4.74 ERA and 1.52 WHIP on the season.
June 25 4:26 PM PT5:26 PM MT6:26 PM CT7:26 PM ET19:26 ET23:26 GMT7:26 4:26 PM MST6:26 PM EST5:26 PM CST6:56 PM VEN3:26 UAE (+1)5:26 PM CT-Yusei Kikuchi fell to 2-4, allowing five runs - two earned - on six hits and one walk in 2.0 innings, as the Toronto Blue Jays lost to the Milwaukee Brewers 5-4 on Saturday. Kikuchi struck out five, ending the game with a 5.08 ERA and 1.59 WHIP on the season.
June 19 2:27 PM PT3:27 PM MT4:27 PM CT5:27 PM ET17:27 ET21:27 GMT5:27 2:27 PM MST4:27 PM EST3:27 PM CST4:57 PM VEN1:27 UAE (+1)3:27 PM CT-Yusei Kikuchi allowed three runs on three hits and two walks in 4.0 innings as the Toronto Blue Jays defeated the New York Yankees 10-9 on Sunday. Kikuchi struck out five, ending the game with a 4.94 ERA and 1.52 WHIP on the season.
June 14 7:32 PM PT8:32 PM MT9:32 PM CT10:32 PM ET22:32 ET2:32 GMT10:32 7:32 PM MST9:32 PM EST8:32 PM CST10:02 PM VEN6:32 UAE (+1)8:32 PM CT-Yusei Kikuchi fell to 2-3, allowing four runs on five hits and four walks in 4.0 innings, as the Toronto Blue Jays lost to the Baltimore Orioles 6-5 on Tuesday. Kikuchi struck out four, ending the game with a 4.80 ERA and 1.54 WHIP on the season.
June 8 2:42 PM PT3:42 PM MT4:42 PM CT5:42 PM ET17:42 ET21:42 GMT5:42 2:42 PM MST4:42 PM EST3:42 PM CST5:12 PM VEN1:42 UAE (+1)3:42 PM CT-Yusei Kikuchi allowed three runs on two hits and four walks in 0.2 innings as the Toronto Blue Jays lost to the Kansas City Royals 8-4 on Wednesday. Kikuchi struck out two, ending the game with a 4.44 ERA and 1.48 WHIP on the season.
June 3 7:25 PM PT8:25 PM MT9:25 PM CT10:25 PM ET22:25 ET2:25 GMT10:25 7:25 PM MST9:25 PM EST8:25 PM CST9:55 PM VEN6:25 UAE (+1)8:25 PM CT-Yusei Kikuchi fell to 2-2, allowing four runs on seven hits in 4.2 innings, as the Toronto Blue Jays lost to the Minnesota Twins 9-3 on Friday. Kikuchi struck out six, ending the game with a 3.91 ERA and 1.37 WHIP on the season.
May 29 10:59 PM PT11:59 PM MT12:59 AM CT1:59 AM ET1:59 ET5:59 GMT13:59 10:59 PM MST12:59 AM EST11:59 PM CST1:29 AM VEN9:59 UAE11:59 PM CT-Yusei Kikuchi allowed two runs on nine hits and one walk in 5.0 innings as the Toronto Blue Jays defeated the Los Angeles Angels 6-5 on Saturday. Kikuchi struck out four, ending the game with a 3.48 ERA and 1.35 WHIP on the season.
May 22 2:01 PM PT3:01 PM MT4:01 PM CT5:01 PM ET17:01 ET21:01 GMT5:01 2:01 PM MST4:01 PM EST3:01 PM CST4:31 PM VEN1:01 UAE (+1)3:01 PM CT-Yusei Kikuchi allowed two runs on two hits and three walks in 4.1 innings as the Toronto Blue Jays lost to the Cincinnati Reds 3-2 on Sunday. Kikuchi struck out seven, ending the game with a 3.47 ERA and 1.27 WHIP on the season.
May 16 7:47 PM PT8:47 PM MT9:47 PM CT10:47 PM ET22:47 ET2:47 GMT10:47 7:47 PM MST9:47 PM EST8:47 PM CST10:17 PM VEN6:47 UAE (+1)8:47 PM CT-Yusei Kikuchi improved to 2-1, allowing one hit and three walks over 6.0 scoreless innings, as the Toronto Blue Jays defeated the Seattle Mariners 6-2 on Monday. Kikuchi struck out six, ending the game with a 3.38 ERA and 1.28 WHIP on the season.
May 10 7:54 PM PT8:54 PM MT9:54 PM CT10:54 PM ET22:54 ET2:54 GMT10:54 7:54 PM MST9:54 PM EST8:54 PM CST10:24 PM VEN6:54 UAE (+1)8:54 PM CT-Yusei Kikuchi allowed two runs on two hits and three walks in 5.1 innings as the Toronto Blue Jays lost to the New York Yankees 6-5 on Tuesday. Kikuchi struck out seven, ending the game with a 4.15 ERA and 1.42 WHIP on the season.
May 4 7:00 PM PT8:00 PM MT9:00 PM CT10:00 PM ET22:00 ET2:00 GMT10:00 7:00 PM MST9:00 PM EST8:00 PM CST9:30 PM VEN6:00 UAE (+1)8:00 PM CT-Yusei Kikuchi improved to 1-1, allowing one run on three hits and one walk in 6.0 innings, as the Toronto Blue Jays defeated the New York Yankees 2-1 on Wednesday. Kikuchi struck out seven, ending the game with a 4.35 ERA and 1.55 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 29 7:55 PM PT8:55 PM MT9:55 PM CT10:55 PM ET22:55 ET2:55 GMT10:55 7:55 PM MST9:55 PM EST8:55 PM CST10:25 PM VEN6:55 UAE (+1)8:55 PM CT-Yusei Kikuchi allowed four runs on four hits and three walks in 2.2 innings as the Toronto Blue Jays lost to the Houston Astros 11-7 on Friday. Kikuchi struck out four, ending the game with a 5.52 ERA and 1.91 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 24 3:04 PM PT4:04 PM MT5:04 PM CT6:04 PM ET18:04 ET22:04 GMT6:04 3:04 PM MST5:04 PM EST4:04 PM CST5:34 PM VEN2:04 UAE (+1)4:04 PM CT-Yusei Kikuchi allowed four runs - two earned - on three hits and five walks in 3.2 innings as the Toronto Blue Jays lost to the Houston Astros 8-7 on Sunday. Kikuchi struck out four, ending the game with a 3.75 ERA and 1.75 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 19 7:27 PM PT8:27 PM MT9:27 PM CT10:27 PM ET22:27 ET2:27 GMT10:27 7:27 PM MST9:27 PM EST8:27 PM CST9:57 PM VEN6:27 UAE (+1)8:27 PM CT-Yusei Kikuchi allowed one run on three hits and three walks in 5.0 innings as the Toronto Blue Jays lost to the Boston Red Sox 2-1 on Tuesday. Kikuchi struck out three, ending the game with a 3.24 ERA and 1.56 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 12 7:20 PM PT8:20 PM MT9:20 PM CT10:20 PM ET22:20 ET2:20 GMT10:20 7:20 PM MST9:20 PM EST8:20 PM CST9:50 PM VEN6:20 UAE (+1)8:20 PM CT-Yusei Kikuchi fell to 0-1, allowing three runs - two earned - on five hits and two walks in 3.1 innings, as the Toronto Blue Jays lost to the New York Yankees 4-0 on Tuesday. Kikuchi struck out two, ending the game with a 5.40 ERA and 2.10 WHIP on the season.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2019 Sea 6 11 0 - 0 32 32 1 161.2 195 109 98 36 50 0 116 1.52 5.46
2020 Sea 2 4 0 - 0 9 9 0 47.0 41 27 27 3 20 0 47 1.30 5.17
2021 Sea 7 9 0 - 0 29 29 0 157.0 145 82 77 27 62 0 163 1.32 4.41
2022 Tor 5 7 0 - 0 29 20 0 95.1 92 67 58 23 57 0 116 1.56 5.48
Career 20 31 0 - 0 99 90 1 461.0 473 285 260 89 189 0 442 1.44 5.08

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2019 Sea 32 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2021 Sea 29 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 .000 .000 .000
Career 99 3 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 3 0 0 .000 .000 .000


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 910 98 91 95 51.3
Slider 524 92 80 86.7 29.54
Split-Finger 246 90 83 87.1 13.87
Cut Fastball 94 93 89 91.2 5.3


@STATS_Insights